deux filles

The Adventures and Musings of 2 BFFs Separated by a Continent

Propaganda and the Wound that Won’t Heal 11 September 2010

Really, MSNBC, you’re rerunning the live coverage of the 9/11 attack on the Twin Towers, minute by minute AND at the exact time it happened?? THIS is why people can’t get over it. One of your commentators said how no one has a problem planning events for December 7th, but “9 years out is too soon for September 11th”. And if seeing the second jet fly into the south tower can make a jaded person like me get teary-eyed, what are you doing to everyone else? You are perpetuating the problem

It’s time to rip the Band-Aid off and let the scab heal. Stop rebroadcasting this crap, and BUILD the replacement buildings on Ground Zero. With all the Park51 “Mosque” controversy, some people are asking why nothing has been rebuilt after nine years – this is why: PROPAGANDA. It would not be as effective to have the bagpipe players walking down steps at a garden in front of a new building as it is to walk around in the same pit of unfinished concrete that has been there for NINE YEARS. It plays on people’s emotions and keeps them stuck in the past and afraid.

But then again, I’m cynical.

And part of me still thinks Bush and his Neo-Con Wolfowitz Doctrine friends let it happen on purpose.

It’s time to move on.

 

8 Responses to “Propaganda and the Wound that Won’t Heal”

  1. Mahou Says:

    I agree 100%. You need to read The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein.

    • Thanks. 🙂 You notice I’m not saying anything about 9/11 on FB? It’s too much. The patriotism we saw right afterward quickly turned to ethnocentrism and then xenophobia. It’s just too much.

      • Mahou Says:

        I remember having a heated debate on a forum back in 2001, where it was only ethnocentrism and xenophobia. Have things changed much? I don’t think so. But still I always like a good debate and it’s better to know where people stand on that subject.
        A few weeks ago when a friend from PR posted an article about the expulsion of Roms in France, I was shocked by the reaction of some of his friends (mostly young US Army soldiers): xenophobia ; they were not informed about the subject, just throwing insults at my country (being far from perfect with such an idiot as a president).
        The ethnocentrism is fueled by poor media coverage of what the world really is like out there, and the fact that an estimated mere 20% americans hold a passport (I wonder how many of those holders are recently naturalized citizens), I think.

        I love your country, but it also infuriates me. Still I have big hopes for the future that the USA are finally gonna open the door wide and step outside for a breath of fresh air.

  2. Now watching all the memorial services and parades today on the evening news, I’m wondering if December 7th was celebrated this way in the years after Pearl Harbor. Somehow I doubt it.

    They also showed the names of all the victims being read. Did anyone read the names of the 5,000+ soldiers who’ve died in vain fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq since the attacks? No.

  3. Sunshine Says:

    I completely agree with you, girls. It sounds heartless and and just plain cruel, but I am so tired of the media, government, and city of New York remembering 9/11 as if it were something to celebrate. Every September, I want to crawl out of my skin as soon as I hear the first murmur of 9/11. Plus, I don’t want my daughter, who wasn’t even alive when it happened, to see the original footage one morning when she’s eating her Cheerios. Don’t misunderstand me; I want her to have a full understanding of her country’s past. What I don’t want it for her to see something like that before she needs to and without deciding to do so by her own choice.

    Anyway, I tend to shun any negative event the media labels as an “anniversary”. Seriously, an anniversary is something you celebrate; recalling a tragedy is called a remembrance or a retrospective. God! I know, I know; I get hung up on semantics, but I can’t stand all the idiots out there clinging to the past because they don’t even try to understand the present, and are too scared to look at the future because they are too lazy, stupid, ethnocentric, and arrogant to meet it head on.

    Every year, my poor husband, who is from New York and lost a childhood friend in the Towers, has to listen to me state how I don’t WANT to remember 9/11 in such a horrific way of such magnitude every year. I don’t WANT or NEED to see the original footage repeatedly. I don’t WANT to hear/see interviews with everyone who has a story. EVERYONE has a story from that day. It impacted each and every person in the United States, as well as around the world. No one is going to forget what happened.

    I know I sound unpatriotic, but I’m not. I’m calling for Americans to wake up from the nightmare and move on. Every year, we all have our own way of remembering that day. I say we keep it private, and quit allowing the media and government to accost with this every time we turn around. It is merely being used to brainwash America and it completely disgusts me.

    It’s time America; come out of your trance and start addressing the real issues facing our country today: unemployment, the falling value of the American $, healthcare reform, bringing the rest of the troops home, dealing with that idiot in Iran (if you’re reading this Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, GO FUCK YOURSELF! — while I’m at it, the same goes for you, Hugo Chavez, if you happen to be perusing this blog with your morning cup o’ joe), the degeneration of the American Dream and family values, and the decline of the American Empire. We have bigger things to worry about than something we can’t change because it’s already happened.

    I think I’m done. Mostly. It’s nice to finally get that off my chest. I feel much better now.

  4. And now watching the World Series… It’s been nine years since 9/11 and we still sing God Bless America at the seventh inning stretch. (Do you remember that started when they resumed baseball to get back to “normal”, and then the D-Backs won the World Series?) What happened to Take Me Out to the Ball Game? We have gone way past patriotism into ethnocentricity, bordering on xenophobia.

  5. Patriotism is a virtue of the vicious.
    – Oscar Wilde

    I love my country too much to be a nationalist.
    – Albert Camus


Leave a Reply

