deux filles

The Adventures and Musings of 2 BFFs Separated by a Continent

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane 27 November 2009

Sunshine and I both love to read. In college we spent hours browsing for new books at Borders. Now that we live on opposite ends of the country, we still find books that we know the other will like. (Books can be expensive to mail unless you remember to use Media Mail!)

Sunshine’s latest recommendation was The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. I just finished it, and it was phenomenal. It’s the kind of book you don’t want to end. I’ve come to realize I really enjoy historical fiction. This one uses the witches of Salem as its central theme. It bounces back between the past and the present to solve a mystery. In that regard it reminded me so much of one of my favorite books, The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier. (I liked it a thousand times more than Girl With a Pearl Earring, which is good, too.) I can’t understand why the bookseller at Barnes and Noble told me she had a hard time getting into it, and she had to put it down several times because it was boring. I love Barnes and Noble, but obviously my friends know me better – I’ll take Sunshine’s recommendations any day!

So I guess next I should read Julie and Julia which Sunshine sent to me before she knew it was going to be a movie. She’s a literary savant!

 

2 Responses to “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane”

  1. Maud Says:

    I think we have mostly the same taste in books. And I’m very glad I’m able to keep in touch with you through Shelfari. I’ll be sure to read TPBODD as soon as I can. Keep reading, Sunshine!! Thanks a lot.

  2. I loved the characters’ names in this book. It made me think, is a name like Deliverance any weirder than what people are going to think about our names 300 years from now?

    We just started studying early American history and a story had a character named Comfort, and the kids laughed. For some reason it made me remember giving my kids Spanish names, so I looked up Colonial names for them to choose from. Then I found this list of “virtue names” – it’s interesting!

    http://www.babynamesdirectory.com/virtue-baby-names.htm


Leave a Reply

