deux filles

The Adventures and Musings of 2 BFFs Separated by a Continent

Jon & Kate Plus Who Cares? 26 May 2009

This morning’s Good Morning America featured the story “Jon and Kate Tell Their Story: Defending Their Marriage & Family”.

Kate is crying about parents of multiples have triple the divorce rate. Really? So you decide to put yourself on TV? Surely you knew that would cause tension in your marriage. Look what happened to Nick and Jessica and The Barkers; the only ones who survived were The Osbournes, but Ozzy’s so damaged he wouldn’t make it without Sharon. People like the Octo-Mom sell themselves to raise money; if you couldn’t afford so many kids, then you shouldn’t have had them.

I don’t care if he’s cheating on her, or she’s cheating on him, or if they might get divorced. Know how I know all that? Because it’s on the news. I don’t watch Entertainment Tonight, or The Insider, or the E! Channel. That’s where this story belongs, not on the news!!

Reality TV needs to die. (Except for SuperNanny and America’s Next Top Model, ‘cuz you can actually learn something – plus I love them! 😉 )

 

16 Responses to “Jon & Kate Plus Who Cares?”

  1. Kris Mares Says:

    God, I lift Jon and Kate Gosselin up to you. I thank you for designing them, for bringing them together. I thank you for their infertility that led to twins and sextuplets. I thank you that you have used the curiosity of the world to provide for their family. I thank you that they have been able to use the avenue of television to show the world that families can and do love you – together. Right now, God, Jon and Kate are hurting. Their marriage is in chaos and they don’t know what will happen and where they will go. So God, I pray right now for your power and love and grace and mercy to pour into the hearts of Jon and Kate and to pour into their marriage. I pray that you reveal yourself to each of them in a mighty way. Reveal your love, but also show them their sin. Show them how they have turned from you. Show them forgiveness. Through that, God, I know that your desire is to restore their marriage and make it more beautiful than it ever has been. I pray God, that you are in the midst of their struggle and that you remove Satan from every corner of their hearts and of their home. I pray that through all of this, that YOU are glorified. I pray that “God moments” are filmed and that those moments make it through to the final production of the show. I pray that Jon and Kate have the courage to publicly turn to you and then to publicly proclaim how good You are. I pray that you use their marriage – the ugly and the restoration to beautiful – to heal other’s marriages and to bring Your beauty back into the public institution of marriage. God I pray that Jon and Kate are overwhelmed by love and that you place a bubble around them and their family. Let that bubble protect them from the evil words, the ugly photos, the hurtful stories. I pray that only YOUR TRUTH is able to penetrate into their hearts. God I pray that many others will lift up prayers for Jon and for Kate. I thank you. I love you. I ask that you grant this prayer so that all glory and praise returns to you. In the powerful name of Jesus Christ I pray, Amen

    • Thank you for giving me another reason NOT to watch the show.

      God helps those who help themselves. God gave us brains, and we should use them. What exactly did Jon and Kate think was going to happen when they decided to let their lives be recorded 24/7? Kate said she has to travel with a security team for her ‘job’. (Does she have one besides the show?) I have no sympathy for celebrities who put themselves in the limelight and then cry, “I have no privacy!” Boo-hoo. You’re the one who wanted to be famous!

    • azfille Says:

      Is this for real? Well, I pray that Jon and Kate get a fucking clue! What did they think was going to happen when they chose fertility treatments to have more children? They already had two…they weren’t enough? I wonder how the twins enjoy what little attention they can get from mommy and daddy with their six additional test tube siblings. Do you really think God (if there is one) approves of doctors meddling in his handiwork and determining who can have children?

      • Amen! I have never understood using fertility treatments. Maybe there’s a reason why you can’t get pregnant. What about adopting or fostering all those kids who are already here? They need a good home, too.

        Or people who are against abortion but they don’t want to adopt, they make new test tube babies.

  2. HonkHonk Says:

    We should care, its terrible that they may break up, maybe you dont like Jon and Kate, but think of there 8 little children who watched their parents renew their vows in Maui, and Jon and Kate told them we will be together forever!

    • I don’t not like them. I don’t know them, and I don’t see why they are important. Because they’re on TV? What about real people in real life? Do you care about my student whose mom is divorcing her third husband in 11 years, and so the girl has done no work, talks back to everyone, and walks around the neighborhood dressed like a hooker? Probably not. But she is real.

    • azfille Says:

      If you were really thinking of their 8 little children, you would be concerned that these two dimwits decided to use fertility treatments to have more children when they already had a set of twins, and apparently, an unsteady relationship. I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve only seen a couple episodes of their reality show, but they were fighting in each show. What did they think having 8 kids (and 6 of the same age) was going to be like? It is simply an act of selfish ignorance on their part.

  3. I just heard on the news that the PA Dept of Labor is investigating them and TLC for violating child labor laws!!!

  4. Just an hour ago my sister and I were talking about reality TV, and I told her about this post. Octo-mom came up and I said something like, “Oh she’s probably next.” Not ten minutes ago on the 11 o’clock news they just announced she has signed with a British TV station to do a reality show! What is the world coming to? And can I use this psychic ability to get a winning PowerBall ticket?

  5. Andrea Says:

    I think this whole thing is ridiculous! It’s reality TV and should be treated as such… e.g. IT DOESN’T BELONG IN THE NEWS! That being said, a friend’s stepson got some incriminating photos of Jon and made a cool $13.5K off it! DAMN! Now I am hoping I see him!!! That’ll help pay off the new car!

    • I feel that way about all the shows: American Idol, Survivor, Dancing with the Stars (tho’ I do like that one), The Bacherlor(ette)… If I wanted to know what happened, I would watch them, and I shouldn’t have to watch recaps on the news!

      Supposedly the Gosselins live around here but farther west… We should go look for them! Hee hee

      • Andrea Says:

        Yep, I believe they live around Reading, PA. But I guess Jon was in this area with another woman (Innocent? Not? Who knows!?) and my friend’s stepson happened to see them and whip out the camera! LOL!

  6. Lee Says:

    Last night I decided to DVR ‘the episode:’ Jon and Kate are filing for divorce. I watched some of the show and just don’t get it. They live in a HUGE house yet do they work? Is the TV show considered work? I don’t understand.

    I agree that if you can’t have kids, you can’t have kids. They’ve ‘created’ this family and maybe they weren’t supposed too. Just because God gave us the ability to have children
    doesn’t mean we all should.

    Yes Kate, your 8 kids are going to become another statistic. Maybe you and Jon should’ve had a better relationship before having them all.

    Also, I was reading online today at MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/31491366/ns/entertainment-gossip/ : Jon is a C-list celeb? Who the F cares!!! He’s being wooed by NYC jobs … WHO CARES!!!

    But I have to agree with this: There is another question to be had: Why didn’t Jon and Kate just walk away from the cameras when they had the chance? Television and its perks are fleeting. Family, on the other hand, does not have to be.

  7. Maud Says:

    Oh my! They’re off the TV screens for now… let’s hope it’ll last! It just saddens me that people care more about reality TV (i.e. those dipshits) than about what’s really going on in their own country with a brand new president. Wake up, American citizens!

    • Totally!!! People are stupid. Here’s another book you might like: Amusing Ourselves to Death by Neil Postman. I read it in college and bought it again last year. It talks about how the Media has changed society. The example I always remember is how TV news has proliferated violence and desensitized us to it; back in the 1800s, it took days for news to travel, and there were only newspapers so the guy out on the farm didn’t hear about stuff, and therefore the idea to take a gun to a store and kill strangers wasn’t in anybody’s mind as something to do. Now it is commonplace.


Leave a Reply

